navigation-background arrow-down-circle Reply Icon Show More Heart Delete Icon wiki-circle wiki-square wiki arrow-up-circle add-circle add-square add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up calendar-circle chat-bubble-2 chat-bubble check-circle check close contact-us credit-card drag menu email embed facebook-circle snapchat-circle facebook-square facebook faq-circle faq film gear google-circle google-square google history home instagram-circle instagram-square instagram linkedin-circle linkedin-square linkedin load monitor Video Player Play Icon person pinterest-circle pinterest-square pinterest play readlist remove-circle remove-square remove search share sign-out star trailer trash twitter-circle twitter-square twitter youtube-circle youtube-square youtube

Team Warrior Wins All-Star Game

March 18, 2016
Final Stats (HTML)

BOSTON, Mass. - Midfielder Stephen Peyser scored the game-winning goal with 2:49 remaining in the fourth quarter as Team Warrior rallied to edge Team Authority by a 21-20 margin in front of 11,186 fans at the 2011 Sports Authority Major League Lacrosse All-Star Game at Harvard Stadium on Saturday evening.

It marked the third straight year that the All-Star Game was decided by a single point.

Team Authority took a 2-0 lead just 3:19 into the first quarter on back-to-back goals from midfielders Peet Poillon and Martin Cahill. But, Team Warrior responded with three consecutive goals, including a goal and two assists from attackman Brendan Mundorf, to take a 3-2 lead with 4:09 remaining in the period.

With 3:03 left, midfielder Mike Ward tied the game at 3-3 by scoring off a feed from Poillon.

Led by a two-point goal from Peyser, Team Warrior opened the second quarter with four consecutive points to regain a 7-3 lead with 11:26 remaining. However, Team Authority put together a five-goal run, including a pair of markers from midfielder Michael Kimmel, to take an 8-7 advantage with 2:39 remaining in the first half.

After midfielder Brad Ross scored a two-point goal to give Team Warrior a 9-8 advantage, Team Authority scored twice in the final 22 seconds to take a 10-9 lead at the intermission.

Midfielder Ben Hunt opened the second half by scoring a two-point goal just 14 seconds into the third quarter, giving Team Warrior an 11-10 cushion. After Team Authority scored a pair of goals from midfielder Max Seibald and attackman Ryan Boyle, Team Warrior used a five-goal run to take a 16-12 lead with 4:16 left in the stanza. Attackman Matt Danowski scored twice during the spurt.

After the teams exchanged goals, Team Authority trimmed the deficit to 17-16 with a pair of goals, including a two-point tally from Kimmel, in the final 32 seconds of the third quarter.

Ross and Hunt upped Team Warrior's advantage to 19-16 in the first two minutes of the fourth quarter with back-to-back goals before Kimmel scored a pair of two-point goals in a three-minute span, giving Team Authority a 20-19 lead with 7:22 remaining in regulation.

With 6:22 left, midfielder Pat Heim tied the game with an unassisted goal before Peyser scored to give Team Warrior a one-point advantage it did not relinquish.

Ross led Team Warrior with three goals, including a two-point marker, while Hunt and Peyser each scored two goals, including a two-point tally. Mundorf added a goal with three assists for Team Warrior, which outshot Team Authority by a 52-44 margin.

Kimmel earned Bud Light Player of the Game honors after setting an All-Star Game record with his nine-point effort for Team Authority . He scored five goals, including an All-Star Game record three two-point goals, and added an assist. Meanwhile, Poillon scored two goals with two assists in a losing effort while attackman Ned Crotty contributed two goals with an assist.

In addition, the annual Bud Light Skills Competition was held during half-time of Saturday night's game. Midfielder Paul Rabil of Team Authority won the Freestyle Contest after jumping over a car in his shot. Meanwhile, defenseman Kyle Hartzell won the Fastest Shot contest with a 102 m.p.h. shot and goalkeeper Jesse Schwartzman earned the inaugural Goalie Gauntlet title after completing the event in 21 seconds.

2011 Sports Authority Major League Lacrosse All-Star Game: Team Warrior 21, Team Authority 20
Team Authority  3-7-6-4 / 20
Team Warrior  3-6-8-4 / 21

One-Point Goals: AUTHORITY - Michael Kimmel 2, Ned Crotty 2, Max Seibald 2, Peet Poillon 2, Paul Rabil 2, Matt Bocklet 1, Ryan Boyle 1, Martin Cahill 1, Mike Ward 1; WARRIOR - Brad Ross 2, Joe Walters 2, Pat Heim 2, Drew Westervelt 2, Matt Danowski 2, PT Ricci 1, Brendan Mundorf 1, Stephen Berger 1, Ben Hunt 1, Stephen Peyser 1. Two-Point Goals: AUTHORITY - Michael Kimmel 3; WARRIOR - Brad Ross 1, Ben Hunt 1, Stephen Peyser 1. Assists: AUTHORITY - Peet Poillon 2, Ned Crotty 1, Mike Ward 1, Michael Kimmel 1, Kyle Hartzell 1, Max Quinzani 1; WARRIOR - Brendan Mundorf 3, Matt Abbott 2, Drew Westervelt 1. Saves: AUTHORITY - Drew Adams 7 (30:00, 7 goals allowed), Brian Phipps 5 (30:00, 11 goals allowed); WARRIOR - Jesse Schwartzman 3 (30:00, 10 goals allowed), Joe Marra 10 (30:00, 7 goals allowed). Shots: AUTHORITY - 44; WARRIOR - 52. Power-Play Opportunities: AUTHORITY - 0 for 1; WARRIOR - 0 for 0. Attendance: 11,186.