navigation-background arrow-down-circle Reply Icon Show More Heart Delete Icon wiki-circle wiki-square wiki arrow-up-circle add-circle add-square add arrow-down arrow-left arrow-right arrow-up calendar-circle chat-bubble-2 chat-bubble check-circle check close contact-us credit-card drag menu email embed facebook-circle snapchat-circle facebook-square facebook faq-circle faq film gear google-circle google-square google history home instagram-circle instagram-square instagram linkedin-circle linkedin-square linkedin load monitor Video Player Play Icon person pinterest-circle pinterest-square pinterest play readlist remove-circle remove-square remove search share sign-out star trailer trash twitter-circle twitter-square twitter youtube-circle youtube-square youtube


March 18, 2016

DENVER – The Denver Outlaws earned the top seed in the 2012 MLL Playoffs with a 15-13 victory at Chesapeake on Saturday, Aug. 11. Denver finished the year with an 11-3 record, which represents the most wins in team history for a single season.

“I expected to compete for the cup at the end of the year,” Head Coach Jim Stagnitta said. “I thought it would take time for us to come together and play our best lacrosse as a team. But I fully expected us to compete at the top of the league as the season progressed. We still have not played our best lacrosse. We need to play four consistent quarters in the playoff. It’s exciting to know we haven't peaked yet.”

Denver enters the postseason as the No. 1 seed for the second time in franchise history and first time since 2009. Denver tied for the league’s top mark in 2006 and 2010. This represents the second season that Denver has reached double digits in wins (10-2 in 2006).

Denver has posted winning records in each of the seven seasons that the team has been in existence. It is the only team to accomplish that feat in each of its seasons as a franchise. The Outlaws are also the only team to reach the playoffs in each of the past seven years. The Outlaws’ 60-26 record is tops since they entered the league in 2006.

The Outlaws set an MLL record with 229 goals in 2012, breaking the old mark of 227 that was held by Baltimore (2005) and Long Island (2002). The team’s 116 assists represented a franchise-best, topping the old record of 90 that was set in 2006. Denver scooped up 482 ground balls, which also marked a new team record.

Attackman Brendan Mundorf shattered the team record for points in a season as he posted 59, including 32 goals and 27 assists to finish second in the league in scoring. Mundorf and Brian Langtry held the old record with 47 points in 2007 and ’08, respectively. Mundorf now holds five of the top eight most productive offensive seasons in franchise history.

Mundorf’s 32 goals rank fourth for a single-season in Outlaws history and were second-most in the league in 2012. Mundorf owns three of the top four highest-goal outputs in team annals. His 27 assists represent a new team record and were fourth-most in the MLL.

The Outlaws finished the year with four players ranked in MLL’s top 10 for goals, which was tops among all teams: Mundorf (59, 2nd), McBride (38, 4th), Sieverts (26, t-7th) and Poillon (24, t-9th). Four players set career highs in scoring this season: Mundorf, Sieverts, McBride and Terry Kimener.

Sieverts established himself as a Most-Improved Player of the Year Award candidate after exploding for 26 goals, including a team-best seven two-pointers, and seven assists for 40 points in 2012. His seven two-pointers tie for second on the team’s single-season leaderboard and tied for fourth in the MLL this season. Sieverts sat out the entire 2011 season and entering this year, his career-best output was six points in 2010.

Seven of the team’s top-10 scorers were offseason acquisitions made by first-year General Manager Tony Seaman and Stagnitta. Three rookies finished in the top 10, led by Mark Matthews’ 28 points.

Denver finished the season on a six-game win streak, which ties for second longest in club annals. The team outscored opponents 108-70 during that stretch. The Outlaws last won six games in a row between May 22, 2009 and June 27, 2009.

The Outlaws also led the league with 12 weekly award winners, taking home seven MLL Rookie of the Week awards, three Offensive Player of the Week Awards and two Defensive Player of the Week awards. The second place team was Long Island with seven weekly honors recipients. Mark Matthews led all players with four weekly awards – all Cascade Rookie of the Week. He was the only player in the league to earn more than two weekly accolades. Chris Bocklet, Brendan Mundorf and Jesse Schwartzman each earned two weekly awards, while Jeremy Sieverts and Stephan Robarge each picked up one.

MLL Championship weekend presented by WARRIOR will take place at Harvard Stadium in Boston on Aug. 25 and 26. Denver will take on Long Island in the first semifinal game at 11 a.m. MDT on Saturday, Aug. 25. The Championship game will begin at 1 p.m. MDT on Sunday, Aug. 26. Visit for more information.

Below is a summary of the team records set or tied by the 2012 Denver Outlaws:

2012 Denver Outlaws Records








10 (2006)




219 (2006)




90 (2006)


Ground Balls


400 (2011)


Single-Game Attendance


27,184 (7/3/11)

Brendan Mundorf



47 (Langtry, '08 / Mundorf, '09)

Brendan Mundorf



23 (Powell, '08)

Jeremy Sieverts

Game-Winning Goals


3 (Langtry, '09 / Law, '06)

Jesse Schwartzman

Goalie Wins


9 (Schwartzman, '09 / Tierney, '08)

*MLL Record


About the Denver Outlaws

Part of Major League Lacrosse’s 2006 western expansion, the Outlaws have made the playoffs in each of their seven seasons. The organization is managed by Edge Sports & Entertainment – a wholly-owned subsidiary of the Denver Broncos Football Club. Outlaws 2012 season tickets are available now. For more information, contact the Outlaws ticket office at 303-OUTLAWS (688-5297) or visit


About Major League Lacrosse

Major League Lacrosse (MLL), the premiere professional outdoor lacrosse league, commenced play in June of 2001.  The MLL is comprised of eight teams located in Boston, Charlotte, Chesapeake, Columbus, Denver, Hamilton, Long Island and Rochester. Major League Lacrosse was founded by Jake Steinfeld and is headquartered in Boston, Mass. For more information, please visit the official league website at

About Edge Sports & Entertainment

Created in 2005, Edge Sports & Entertainment is a full-service event sports and entertainment company focused on the development of live events, event production, and broadcast. Edge Sports & Entertainment is owned by Pat Bowlen.